Latest News: wolfmother

Vitamin String Quartet Tribute to Almost Alice

By 23


  1. White Rabbit (originally performed by Grace Potter & The Nocturnals)
  2. Fell Down a Hole (originally performed by Wolfmother)
  3. The Technicolor Phase (originally by Owl City)
  4. Alice (originally performed by Avril Lavigne)
  5. Welcome to Mystery (originally performed by Plain White T’s)
  6. Painting Flowers (originally performed by All Time Low)

Read more

Wolfmother Loses Yet Another Member

By 6

Led Zeppelin wannabes Wolfmother have lost another member recently. Drummer Dave Atkins has left the band in order to “spend more time with his family”, leaving founder/guitarist/singer Andrew Stockdale to ponder why his band members keep leaving. This, of course, follows the departure of founding members Chris Ross and Myles Heskett, who quit in 2008 after citing “irreconcilable personal differences” with Stockdale. The current band also includes rhythm guitarist Aidan Nemeth and bassist Ian Peres, both who are still reportedly in Wolfmother. The band released the following statement: “Well, after two years of good service to Wolfmother, Dave Atkins has decided to leave the band to spend much-needed time at home with his family. Dave has had a great experience touring and recording with the band, though in time, it’s proven to be too exhausting and taxing on his home life. Dave gives his blessings to the band and may well still be around for future recordings. All is good between the band, everyone is cool, this is more of a life change decision for Dave.” Right… sure. I find it hard to believe that when he joined the band he wouldn’t have expected the long tours that would come with the stint behind the drums. Well, then what now for the band? The statement continues, “After Andrew Stockdale’s performances in L.A with Slash (earlier this month), the band decided to audition a few drummers whilst they were in town. And we’ve come across a young gun by the name of Will Rockwell-Scott of Mooney Suzuki and Har Mar Superstar fame. We’re very happy to have him on board and Will is keen as mustard to enter into the realm of Wolfmother. So at this point Will Rockwell-Scott will be with us for the rest of the Cosmic Egg touring cycle.” The band still has plenty of festival gigs as well as other smaller gigs throughout the summer, so keep an eye on the stage to see who’s the next to go.

Read more

Slash To Release Solo Album in April

By 6

U.K. metal magazine Metal Hammer posted a video that features ex-Guns and Roses legend Slash talking about his new solo album that is scheduled to appear sometime in April in the U.S. The album features a ton of guests, including, Dave Grohl, Iggy Pop, Kid Rock, Lemmy Kilmister, Adam Levine of MAROON 5, Ian Astbury, Fergie Duff McKagan, M. Shadows of AVENGED SEVENFOLD, Chris Cornell, Myles Kennedy, Rocco DeLuca, Ozzy Osbourne, and Andrew Stockdale of WOLFMOTHER. Eric Valentine, who’s done work for the All American Rejects and Queens of the Stone Age, produced the album. Filling out the band’s rhythm section were bassist Chris Chaney (JANE'S ADDICTION) and drummer Josh Freese (NINE INCH NAILS). Slash says in the video, “"The idea was really simple in the beginning. These are all artists I wanted to work with — that I thought it would be amazing to do something creative and collaborative. And I was so impressed with what everyone brought to the table. They were all so committed to doing a good job. And we had a lot of fun making these songs."

The track listing (guest vocalists in parenthesis):

01. Ghost (Ian Astbury, feat. Izzy Stradlin) (3:34) 02. Crucify The Dead (Ozzy Osbourne) (4:04) 03. Beautiful Dangerous (Fergie) (4:35) 04. Promise (Chris Cornell) (4:41) 05. By The Sword (Andrew Stockdale) (4:50) 06. Gotten (Adam Levine) (5:05) 07. Doctor Alibi (Lemmy) (3:07) 08. Watch This Dave (Dave Grohl, Duff McKagan) (3:46) 09. I Hold On (Kid Rock) (4:10) 10. Nothing To Say (M. Shadows) (5:27) 11. Starlight (Myles Kennedy) (5:35) 12. Saint Is A Sinner Too (Rocco De Luca) (3:28) 13. We're All Gonna Die (Iggy Pop) (4:30) Bonus tracks: 14. Baby Can't Drive (Alice Cooper, Nicole Scherzinger) 15. Paradise City (Fergie, Cypress Hill)

Read more

Recent Articles