New Supergroup Forms For Charity Project

By 6

Members of the Libertines, Babyshambles, Super Furry Animals, and the Arctic Monkeys have teamed up for an upcoming album under the name The Bottletop Band. You can check out the group’s new site at The group includes Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys, Arctic Monkeys’ drummer Matt Helders, the Libertines' Carl Barât, Babyshambles’ bassist Drew McConnell, Tim Burgess of the Charlatans, and more. The upcoming album, Dream Service, is scheduled for an April 11 release. The single "Fall of Rome" is available for free download now. Proceeds from the album are planned for grassroots education projects, through (what else) Bottletop organization. Sort of confused? Well the band’s site explains:
“The Bottletop Band is a cross-pollination of the sounds and stars of Brazilian music with a host of like-minded British musicians. In 2008 Bottletop approached the UK clothing brand Fenchurch with the idea of an interchangeable lineup of leading musicians collaborating on either side of the continent, with the aim of producing a groundbreaking cross-cultural record in support of Bottletop. Bottletop set up recording sessions at Dean Street Studios in Soho with a wide variety of musicians to record a selection of ideas together under the stewardship of producer Jagz Kooner. “The loops and live jams were then sent across to Rio de Janeiro for local artists to add their ideas. From here, the first Bottletop Band record was born. The tracks were sent back and forth between the two countries, in a flurry of studio sessions with a host of singers, bands and session musicians until eventually resting with super producer Mario C Jr, in LA, having overseen the entire project, as he eventually pieced together the final material and mixed the tracks to create the full 10 track album Dream Service. “The Bottletop Band is a means of raising funds and awareness through credible musical collaborations and is the latest musical initiative pioneered by the charity – it follows in the wake of the hugely successful Sound Affects album series. The first release, Africa was comprised of rare afrobeat remixed by Paul Oakenfold and Quantic amongst others. The follow-up Brazil includes exclusive remixes by Fatboy Slim and Jazzanova, and garnered praise from The Independent, Bob Geldof and Michael Eavis.”
Check out a trailer of the band’s work below:


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published